Tag - Ohio State Buckeyes

Remarkable Upset Names the Ohio State Buckeyes 2014 National Champions

Remarkable Upset Names the Ohio State Buckeyes 2014 National Champions

14nationalchampThe College National Championship on Monday January 12, 014 was the moment football fans have been waiting for over the course of years. AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, the home to the first ever College Football Playoff National Championship, would play host to match-up between Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota at the helm of a dominant Oregon Ducks team and an Ohio State squad that overcame great odds for a chance at the title.

For the right to play for the CFP Championship, the Oregon Ducks destroyed the defending champion Florida State Seminoles in the Rose Bowl. In a match-up between the two previous Heisman winners, Marcus Mariota dominated the Seminoles’ defense throughout the entire game. After a 59-20 romping of Florida State, the Ducks seemed like they were on pace to win the first college football national championship in University of Oregon history.

Meanwhile, the Ohio State Buckeyes pulled off a huge upset over the number one seed Alabama Crimson Tide in the Sugar Bowl for the trip to the championship. In second start of quarterback Cardale Jones’ career, he threw for 243 yards and ran for an additional 43. Sophomore running back Ezekiel Elliott also broke onto the scene of the national stage while posting an incredible 230 yards, which featured a pivotal 85-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter to seal an Ohio State victory.

Monday night provided a title game that college football fans across the country will remember for many years. The Buckeyes jumped to an early 21-7 lead in the second quarter and went in to the half with double-digits separating them from Oregon’s upbeat and oftentimes unstoppable offense. Not going down without a fight, the Ducks bounced back in the third quarter, bringing the score to within one point, but the Ohio State offense would prove too much for Oregon. For the win, Ezekiel Elliot commanded the field, while Cardale Jones threw just seven incompletions in his third ever start and proved to the world that “third-string quarterback” is nothing but a title.

Upon winning the 2014 College Football Playoff National Championship, the Buckeyes made NCAA history and brought the Ohio State University its eighth title. In a 42-20 victory, Jones became the first Buckeye signal caller to win three postseason games, Elliot set a career high with 246 rushing yards for an Ohio State record, and Urban Meyer won his third national championship.

Copyright © 2013. Created by Meks. Powered by WordPress.